Why I Want to Join The Army But Won’t

A couple years ago when I was in college I contemplated joining the Navy. Contemplated it enough to talk to a recruiter, take some tests, and pick out a job and shipping out date.

I didn’t go, I finished my degree instead. I look back now seeing how things turned out and regret it. A lot of great things happened, but those were mostly personal experiences and there’s no reason to think I wouldn’t have had other highly rewarding personal experiences had my life gone down the aquatic adventure path.

What I want to talk about is why I wanted to join the Navy in the first place and compare it to my thoughts on doing the same thing now.

At the time I’d been in college for two years and kept changing my major, only finally deciding what I wanted to do at that time. I didn’t know if I wanted to get a bachelors(cost), and instead figured the Navy could train me in the same job, while giving me work experience and a little adventure.

Plus, I looked around and saw two wars going on. I myself am a patriot and love what the United States stands for in its ideals, even if we often are far from that. I saw the thousands of Americans contributing and sacrificing for their country and thought it would only be fair for me to contribute my part to a country that’s given me so much. Plus enlisted personal are some of the nicest, most enjoyable people to be around.

So I contemplated the Navy, because frankly I’m no fan of deserts.

As things are now, fruitless job hunting efforts since graduating in 2009. Unable to secure a job other than unskilled labor because of the flooded job market.

Since graduating I’ve contemplated enlisting again, this time in the Army. (Don’t ask why the change in services, I really don’t know why).

But it’s only for half the original reasons. I still love my country, but I also worry for it. I get down right angry when I see what has happened to it.

Do I really want to be a veteran in a country that belittles the success of those individuals more successful than they?

Do I serve a country that can arrest it’s own citizens for no reason whatsoever(of course we know the real reason is a simple matter of dissent) and that can also seize their assets at will and without recompense?

Do I want to represent a country that spends itself into oblivion and lets it’s monetary policies be controlled by fraudulent and deceitful central bankers?

But most importantly, the biggest reason that causes me to hesitate in talking to a recruiter again is because of what has happened this week.

As American embassies are attacked in Egypt, Libya, and Yemen the United States does nothing. The United States government does not walk softly and carry a big stick, the United States is no longer a sleeping giant, the United States no longer bears any burden, meets any hardship, supports any friend, or oppose any foe.

Do I dare join the United States Armed Services as the MiddleEast continues to go up in flames even after the revolutions of last year were supposed to have set them free?

The United States is presently sending Naval Warships to the coast of Libya and an extra contingent of Marines to secure the area, but to what end?

They will not be used, not properly or effectively that is. Most likely they will be used once the situation on the ground has detiorated to the point of immediate rescue of US personel is required.

Do I want to serve a nation that is to afraid to stand up to nations that have demonstrated over the past year and more that they are no friend of ours.

The people in these nations have rebelled against their governments not to achieve freedom, not to release themselves from the shackles of abusive power. They toppled their governments to create a new establishment that fits what we have seen this week.

Islamic governments that do not accept outside opinion. Governments that support the idea an Islamicly controlled nation.

If the people of Libya and Egypt truly wanted freedom they would have rebelled against the people they have now. They did it last year and they could surely do it again this year, but they do not because they do not want to. The system they have is the system they want. They know what they are doing and they choose to do it. They can have freedom equal to the level of  any western nation but they do not want it, that is not the system they desire.

That system is not compatible with the United States. If the nations of the MiddleEast want to act in this manner it is not the responsibility of the United States to prevent or alter that.

However it is also not the responsibility of the United States to fund these nations if they are not going to be compatible with our ideas of national status.

I am not advocating violence or war against these nations. They are allowed to do as they please. However the United States cannot allow its Embassies and Consulates to be attacked without reaction. We must put our foot down and firmly establish a position on this kind of behavior and national attitude.

If the Egyptians and Libyans are unhappy with the United States it does not require the United States to engage them in war. However at the very least, all international aid should be revoked immediately and permanently and US State Department services withdrawn.

As long as I cannot know what our policy is concerning nations like this I will not join the United States Armed Forces. As long as we choose hollow words and simulated actions to provide a tidy display of our unwillingness to make a coherent decision I cannot in good conscience provide myself to fight for that.

My position may change pending the outcome of the November 6th election. I have no confidence it will change prior to that, as that would require an extreme decision to be made on behalf of our current President who has shown no prior ability to make such decisions.

 

About Moose

I am who I am

Posted on September 14, 2012, in No Hope For America and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. My husband is, or was, a Navy man. He was in a similar situation as yours, only in 1992: one year of college, running his own business, but no real direction or career prospects in sight. He enlisted and went to boot camp in 93 and did six years, got out with enough experience to warrant a white collar career in telecom. He hated that white collar experience (as I did my own) and opted to follow his dad into the trades. After his apprenticeship (which the GI Bill paid him for, since he was legitimately training and getting an education) and achieving full journeyman status, he has as near-permanent job security as you can get in his field. He is good, nay, superior at what he does, else he would not be working 5 (or 6 or sometimes 7 days a week). His salary alone, which seldom approaches 6 figures at year’s end, supports a family of five.

    He knew, years ago, what I did not and what so many do not know: college does not equal a ticket to a great job. His Navy experience gave him a far better leg-up on the job market, and an introspection into his own desires and capacities, than college ever could.

    My parents met in the Navy; my dad was a pharmacist in the med corps and my mom a nurse. Just yesterday she shared with me the torture and joy she felt when waking at 2 a.m. to take watch during ice cold January nights on the Great Lakes during A School (where she met my dad) and again the hospital ships in the North Atlantic. She loved and hated those experiences, and they taught her 19-21 year old self a lot about what real work and real life entailed, no college experience required. My mom became a nurse when a college degree was not required; she started her nursing education at 17 and got her LPN upon high school graduation, finished her RN in the Navy can any high school student these days claim an education would give him or her the same opportunities? I’m not looking at the women in the workforce arguments for the moment, because my mom was given honorable discharge shortly after she had me and my brother, and was a SAHW&M until my younger sister went into kindergarten at our local Catholic school. My mom worked a fairly traditional woman’s occupation in a noble fashion until she had children, then gave up working until all of her kids were in school, and then she worked part-time so we could still have a mom at home. I consider that situation optimal and one I hope to emulate (oh, and my parents are still married 38 years and have had modestly successful lives by living within their means and capitalizing on their military discipline and service to help them navigate the often troubling career waters of the 80s and 90s).

    In short, look to military enrollment for better career opportunities than you might have with merely a college degree (unless you are in a STEM field and a stellar student). I would strongly suggest the Navy or Air Force; each lend themselves to considerably broad civilian employment opportunities post-service, although any and all military service is honorable and noble when coupled with a skill that employers seek but cannot find among a pool of anonymous holders of worthless degrees and flimsy resumes.

    • I agree. I think the services provide equally valuable career/work as well as personal development opportunities.

      I don’t know if this is ironic or not, but it’s the people who are probably already better off(at least in their understanding of things) in these respects who end up enlisting anyway.

      While as a kid my take on the military was all guts and glory movie stuff to be an American hero, these days it’s more of a desire just to have some form of adventure and a place to be.

      The idea as a whole still has appeal to me because that’s a part of who I am, but as I become more aware of what my nation really is I have less of a sense of commitment.

      The College’s and Universities industry in this country should be blown up and started over. More emphasis on trades and apprenticeships, getting job experience and not book experience building a future with a foundation instead of just creating one out of thin air so the weird kids can feel accepted with their useless study programs.

      • The weird kids are just frightened they will become Private Fat Bodies to some Gunny Hartman. The military is not that way, and even if it were in every boot camp situation, it would do the weird ones some good and give them direction. Whipped my eff-up cousins right into shape just last year; one is married and working as a flight tech in Norfolk, the other in ADAK as a comm tech working towards his nukie certs. Both are incredibly smart kids but had little direction in high school. The military sharpened their focus and narrowed their options to funnel them into career areas that were suited to them rather than allowing a future with limitless opportunity but hopeless capacity to navigate a destination.

Leave a Reply

