The last sanctuary for men

I’ve read in a few places that October is breast cancer awareness month and as such the NFL is awash in pink uniforms to promote that. The only place I could find an article is from Hawaiian Libertarian.

The articles I’ve seen and conversations I’ve heard run the gamut, from support to indifference to indignation.

One thing that is commonly heard from the indignation crowd is that the presence of pink uniforms, and women is taking the manliness out of football. They say football is one of the last sanctuaries where men can be men without the overwatchful eye of women, manners, and behavior holding them back.

Here’s what I don’t get. How is watching football manly? If you’re one of the guys on the field participating sure, but sitting on your couch or even in the stadium watching other guys play a game is manly?

Roman gladiators were manly. The spectators, were just spectators. The gladiators killed and risked their lives as their job, the spectators just showed up to watch. Virtue does not rub off or appropriate itself through proximity. You have it or you don’t.

Or is it more because it’s a place where men gather together for similar interest? If that’s the case then star trek and comic book conventions would be equally as manly.

I admit I’m biased. I have’t watched a football game in over 2 years. I’ve been in a fantasy football league the past few years but I find it to be a waste of time and boring.

Sorry guys but I don’t see how sitting around and watching other men qualifies as being a manly activity or gathering.

About Moose

I am who I am

Posted on October 22, 2012, in The Life of Man and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I think your inclussion of the Roman gladiator and mentioning virtue is very apt. The Romans had a keen sense of what it was to be a man, and in fact, their word for it, vir, could also men hero, husband, and a person for courage. A man wasn’t really a man if he didn’t possess those traits.

    • Thanks for the comment. Roman history is not my strongest area but I do know that as went Roman virtue, so went Rome. As Rome put less value on those traits, and removed them as a prerequisite to greater things Rome began its downfall.

      Like Rome with the gladiators, we can look beyond football to society at large and see that we have cheapened the value of the virtues that once made America great and are headed for a similar fate.

Leave a Reply

