Parenting 101

This stories a few days old but I just heard about it.

BREVARD COUNTY, F.L.–A Florida woman is facing charges after calling 911 to request a police officer to come to her house and ‘scare’ her children.

Melissa Townsend told a dispatcher that her one-year-old and three-year-old kids needed to learn to respect people and listen to their mother.

Police went to the house and say Townsend was drunk and assaulted an officer.

She was arrested and charged with child neglect, assault, resisting an officer and probation violation.

It’s not particularly unique as these stories tend to come up often but it brings up something that is important. Parenting. I don’t have kids but I’ve got experience raising some. If your kids are under my supervision you’re lucky and you know what I hardly do anything. I’m attentive but not going to dictate every action by the kid. Let them alone and they’ll be fine as well as grow to be capable people.

Anyway, I thought I would make a statement on parenting for any curious parents who are wondering why they can’t control their kids that well.

Here it is;

Yelling is not authority.

You can yell as much as you want, but its not authority. You’ll get farther as a parent, leader, and anything else with a cool head that is in control. Yelling like a nut undermines your authority. I hate to say it but,

Keep-calm-and-carry-on

About Moose

I am who I am

Posted on March 28, 2013, in enjoy life, The Life of Man and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. I don’t know how people forget that yelling only increases energy levels. I feel like it’s something we all instinctively know. We hear authority every day, and we learn the sound of it in those deep, resonating voices that like an echo of thunder wrapped in a layer of honey. I don’t think I’ve ever met a soul that doesn’t love the sound of those voices with authority built into them.

    But yes, it’s the amount of command in your voice that increases authority. You can increase volume while increasing authority, but increasing volume when you don’t have authority is just going to add more energy to a situation that you have yet to deal with.

    Doesn’t work well for parenting.

  2. Hey Drama, do you consider yourself an mgtow or what? I have a post about my thoughts on this, can you check it out?

Leave a Reply

